Jennifer Keishin Armstrong

I’ve been thinking a lot about what it means, to a person’s life, to create a classic in his or her genre. A classic movie, a classic book, a classic TV show. I’d love to say that I’ve been thinking about it because I am currently creating a classic book, but a person can’t sit down and do that — that’s one thing I’ve learned in studying the people who did make a classic TV show, The Mary Tyler Moore Show. Alas, I haven’t uncovered the alchemical secret to their success, but I have roughly figured out the career trajectory of anyone who has created a classic. It seems to go something like this:

1. Fight for your vision against a bunch of doubters.

2. Become suddenly recognized for having a singular vision that speaks to the times and hooks lots of fans; gain recognition as a visionary/genius.

3. Have…

View original post 86 more words

Leave a Reply

